2.2  Wyoming IV-D Program Structure and Authority

Federal Authority:

Social Security Act

§454(1) and (3) State plan for child and spousal  support

Code of Federal Regulations

45 CFR 302.10 Statewide Operations

45 CFR 302.12 Single and separate

organizational unit

State Authority:

Wyoming Statute

Wyo. Stat. § 9-2-2006 Department of family services created; director appointed; structure

Wyo. Stat. § 20-6-103 Child support enforcement program; administration by child support enforcement section

Wyo. Stat. § 20-6-106 (j) (k) (n) Powers and duties of department regarding collection of support

Wyoming Child Support Enforcement Rules

Chapter 1 - Authority

Policy Number:  2.2

Effective Date:  October 1, 2010


In 1975, the United States Congress created the CSP – also known as the IV-D program – to help ensure children and families receive child and medical support 


The federal statutory authority for the Wyoming CSP is Title IV-D of the Social Security Act.  These laws govern the federal child support program and provide a framework for state child support programs.   While the program is governed by federal rules and regulations, each state may determine how best to implement these federal requirements.  

Wyoming statutes and rules provide the guiding principles for the Wyoming CSP  The Child Support Enforcement Act provides the Department of Family Services (DFS) with the statutory authority to establish a child support program governed by Title IV-D of the Social Security Act.  In Wyoming, the Wyoming Department of Family Services administers the Wyoming CSP that:

Wyoming Program Structure 

The Wyoming IV-D program is state administered by the State CSP Office within the DFS.  Through Wyoming statutory authority, the State CSP Office may either enter into a cooperative agreement with a county or counties or a contract with a private contractor to carry out Wyoming’s responsibilities related to the IV-D child support program.  

Currently, the State CSP office maintains interagency agreements with three Joint Powers Boards formed by multiple counties within a judicial district (the 4th, 5th, and 6th) to manage the day-to-day child support program and Natrona County, the single county in the 7th Judicial District.  For the remaining five judicial districts (the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 8th, and 9th), the State CSP Office contracts with a private contractor to maintain and manage the IV-D program. 

Since 1997 the State CSP Office and the 23 Clerks of District Court across Wyoming have worked together through a Contract that enables the Clerks to enter child support orders and all associated information onto the POSSE computer system. On March 14, 2000 a Waiver was granted by the Department of Health and Human Services, Child Support Enforcement Division to the State of Wyoming and the Clerks of District Court to continue to perform the responsibility of receipting and the disbursement of child support payments.

Cross Reference

2.A Federal OCSE Organizational Chart

2.B - Wyoming Judicial District Map

Version Number:  1               

Last Reviewed Date:  October 1, 2010

 Last Reviewed:  March 21, 2023