|Enforcement||Social Security Act
§466 (a)(9) Requirement of statutorily prescribed procedures to improve effectiveness of child support enforcement
45 CFR 303.106 Procedures to prohibit retroactive modification of child support arrearages
|Judgments||Wyo. Stat. §1-16-103 Penalty assessed on unpaid judgment by operation of law
Wyoming Child Support Enforcement Rules
Wyo. Stat. §1-16-308 Release of satisfied judgment; requirement
Wyo. Stat. §1-16-309 Release of satisfied judgment; liability for failure
Wyo. Stat. §1-16-503 Revivor of dormant judgments; limitations on time to revive
Wyo. Stat. §1-17-307 When a judgment becomes dormant
|Policy Number||Effective Date|
|9.10||October 1, 2010|
Some child support enforcement remedies require judgments while others such as income withholding, dunning letter, or federal offset do not. Therefore, it is imperative that a judgment for retroactive or past due support be obtained. A judgment may be obtained from a District Court hearing or may arise from the operation of law. A judgment by operation of law does not require a hearing and means “a periodic payment or installment of child support or maintenance which is unpaid on the date due.”
The child support judgment, whether judicial or by operation of law may become dormant if the last attempt to enforce the action was more than 5 years ago. A dormant judgment is not subject to collection; however, a dormant judgment is revived (i.e. returned to status where it can be collected) as soon as the non-custodial parent is notified of any effort to collect the judgment. Notice of any number of enforcement actions, such as income withholding, an action to revive or a civil cotempt action, will revive a dormant judgmentif provided within 21 years of the last action to enforce the judgment.
The District Child Support Office Attorney will not negotiate or waive any assigned arrears owed to the State of Wyoming without the written permission of the IV-D Director.
When the Child Support Program has obtained a child support judgment from the District Court, the District CSE Office Attorney will file a satisfaction of judgment within 15 days of the date the judgment is paid in full.
|Version Number||Last Revised Date|
|2||October 1, 2015|